And things are going pretty good all things considered.

I do have my first three-month appointment on July 3rd and need to start making a list of issues I want to talk to them about.

Menopause:  My hot flashes are getting better most of the month but seem to be condensing their strength and frequency to the week when my period would have been.  Actually, most of my symptoms seem to only be bothersome during that week.

Strange symptoms: I want to ask if the following symptoms are menopause related or something else I should get checked out.

  • Severe Dry Eye and Dry Mouth again mainly prevalent during period week.  My eyes end up feeling like gravel is in them and my mouth gets so dry that I’m afraid I’m going to choke on food when I eat.  I also have trouble speaking at times.
  • I also have body aches mainly in my joints, elbow, knee, back, fingers, and hip.  Sometimes it is difficult to lift things with my left arm and it can be challenging to climb stairs sometimes.
  • Fatigue, I get so tired, again usually once a month.  I have trouble concentrating and just want to sleep.  I end up exhausted. canceling appointments and avoid chores.
  • Loss of interest, in a lot of things I enjoy.  I don’t want to read. I don’t want to watch movies, I don’t want to go anywhere. I don’t want to be around people.  I don’t want to have sex…  About the only thing I can motivate myself to do is gardening and play with my pets. I think some of this might be depression.

Those seem to be the ones giving me the most concern right now.  If I think of something else I will add it later.

I know it seems like a lot of issues but actually I am doing alright and adjusting.  Nothing is bothering me so much that I felt the need to make a special doctor’s appointment.  I am finding ways to manage.  I truly do not miss my uterus and ovaries one bit.  Well maybe the ovaries…

My surgery is almost paid off.  Just one more payment in July and all the procedures and tests I’ve had done related to my diagnosis will be paid for.  That surprised me actually.  I thought I would be paying a lot more, and if the Republicans have their way I will be, but over all this has been affordable.  I was lucky my husband has good insurance through work.  Of course I am simply terrified that is all going to chance with the repeal of the Affordable Care Act.  Hopefully the bill will die when it comes up for a vote and we can move on.  Or no, I hope they all get their head’s out of their donor’s asses and give the people what they deserve.  Health Care as a RIGHT.  Quality health care should not only be for those that can afford it.  If other countries can figure it out then so can we.  We just need to get rid of greed.

Well before I preach more I’ll end here.  I’ll post another update after my July 3rd appointment.

One thought on “Five months without a uterus

  1. Hi Amy, thanks for sharing such a personal journey. It’s good to share details cause it can make you feel a little less crazy knowing other people are experiencing things too. I too get the dry eye thing. Some mornings it can take me a few minutes to open my eyes because they are so dry. There is no stuff coming out they are just that dry that I can’t open them. The first time it happened it was really quite scary. I also get a dry mouth and lips. Like I’m dehydrated – no matter how much water I drink. And the tired thing for me was my first major symptom. I would actually fall asleep while looking after my children. That has worn off a bit now – magneisum has helped me a bit with the tiredness too. Hope all goes well for you at your next appointment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

