So what do you do if you can’t stand the heat yet you can’t leave the kitchen?

Seriously?  What do you do?  For the most part, I am adapting to the hot flashes and have even trained myself to throw off the covers when I get hot without completely waking up so I’m not really waking up in a pool of my own sweat anymore.  I am also already sleeping nude.  Not a mental picture you probably wanted but its the truth.  I sleep without a stitch of clothing on and it isn’t even the hot season yet.  I cant’ get any more uncovered than I currently am.

We haven’t moved into sleeping with windows open yet and I have only had the fan on to move air for a couple of nights now but I am already concerned about how I will survive summer.  We do have central air but it doesn’t reach the second floor very well.  I have in the past slept downstairs in the heat and imaging that is what I will need to do again.  Dammit.  When I lost weight I ended up cold all the time and had enjoyed the summer heat because it meant that I was finally comfortable upstairs in the summer.  I slept beautifully.  Now I feel like that is all lost.

I continue to take Black Cohosh for the flashes but don’t feel like it is actually working.  I know it takes some time to truly kick in but I feel like I should be sensing some sort of improvement by now.  And I’m not…  I know the doctor is fine with me going on hormones but I don’t think I’m alright with it.  Menopause is something we all go through as women and I feel like taking hormones is just going to delay these symptoms.  So why kick them down the road when I can just deal with them now.  It’s going to suck no matter what, right?

Still dealing with fatigue.  Of course, I don’t know if it is because I’m still recovering from surgery or another symptom of menopause.  Could be both, too.

I’m just here to whine.  I don’t like feeling this way and some days get a little angry that I have to adjust.  The other option was cancer, though, so I feel a bit guilty that I’m bitching about it so much.  Many were not as lucky as I was and had a more aggressive form of cancer that needed extensive treatment.  I was lucky, removing my uterus and ovaries did the trick.

So I will do what I need to do.  Never leave home without a fan.  Keep a fan by my desk at work and at home.  Sleep naked and continue to dress in layers that I spend half the day taking on and off.  When summer heat hits maybe I can find a nice walk in refrigerator that I can sleep in… So I’ll suck it up then too because the alternative was dying from cancer.

Thanks for listening.

One thought on “Afraid of the coming summer…

Leave a Reply

