Okay so here is what happen.

My husband’s employer changed insurance policies with our insurance company.  Same company, same employer, same doctors covered. Simply the policy changed.  This morning the day before my surgery was scheduled to happen  I get a call from the insurance/billing department of the University of Iowa and there is a problem with pre-approval.  The new insurance policy doesn’t have records of anything and they say my surgery, that I need to have because I have cancer, was not pre-approved.  They had to start the approval process all over again.

I have to give it to the University of Iowa they fought hard for me to have my hysterectomy tomorrow.  They really did.  So all day I have been in limbo waiting for word if I could get these cancer cells out of my body.  It came around 4:45… I had to reschedule.  The irony is that my approval will probably come tomorrow but the doctor is going to be out-of-town for two weeks and didn’t want to schedule surgery and then leave before I was checked out of the hospital.

So on January 24th I am now scheduled for surgery and they should have enough bloody time to get their damn paperwork in order.  Because it is within 30 days I don’t need to have any new post-op, the information they gave me is still to be followed just in 20 freaking days.

I have to live with cancer for 20 more days.

I have to wait 20 more days to find out what stage it’s at, to learn if it has spread, if I’m going to need further treatment, to question every single ache and pain.

To live in fear…. and be angry.

20 more days.

I wonder what those insurance people would think if this happen to their family?  To them?

Oh well, I will have the surgery, eventually.  I will.  And I will be alright.  I hope.

I am actually feeling remarkably calm about all this.  Sure I’m mad but I accept it and am ready to wait some more. I want all my friends and family to know that I feel alright.  I do.  Since I started taking iron I feel remarkably better.  If I didn’t have the diagnosis I wouldn’t know I was sick.  My body ache are gone, my energy is up, I’m not bleeding.  If I was feeling like I did two weeks ago I would be flipping out right now, but I don’t and I’m not.  I simply have to wait a bit to save my life and as long as I’m feeling alright I think it will be fine.  I had one bad period.  Some women live with this for months or years before having a diagnosis.  So I can wait 20 more days.

Thank you to everyone that has been angry and frustrated on my behalf.  Also for all the love and support that you have shown me.  I appreciate it SO MUCH.  I often feel like Husband and I are all alone and on our own.  You have shown me that simply isn’t true, that there are people out there that care for us and that we can count on.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

3 thoughts on “Fucking Insurance…

  1. Oh my gosh, Amy!!! That totally does suck!!! So sorry! Inspired and impressed by your ability to roll with it, though. You are a trooper!! Our continued thoughts and prayers are with you and Husband… ❤️

    Like

  2. Again, Amy, you have a good attitude. You are managing to find the silver linings. I was told once by a nurse (regarding a different medical situation) that people who can try to stay positive generally have the best outcomes. I hope that the next 20 days pass more quickly that you think and this will soon be behind you. In the meantime, we wait with you. ♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

